Charlie Bear Here with “Something to Chew On” #7

December 8, 2010 at 11:16 am 14 comments

In the last “Chew On” I told you how I wasn’t wanted. I’d been abandoned, rescued and then turned over to foster care, where the first night in the crate I slept like a baby. But I woke up, jumped up, and started to bark. Where the heck was I and why was I in a cage?

Foster Mom: “Charlie Bear greeted us that first morning with a great sense of displeasure. You could tell by his piercing, high-pitched barks that he wasn’t happy. I let him out of the crate and we went directly outside.”

Would you like it if you woke up in a box? Okay, it was a metal crate that I could see through, and it had a door on it, and a soft, squishy bed to lie on, but to me it was a box. As soon as the foster mom opened the door I rushed to the great outdoors: the open sky, lots of trees, and grass and space.  This is what I knew. This is what I was comfortable in.

Foster Mom: “As soon as he rushed outside he paced around and around the perimeter of our backyard over and over and over again. He pranced on his tiptoes back and forth from one end to the other. We considered the possibility that he had a hyper-vigilant personality. Not a bad thing, but we were worried he’d wear himself down.”

What she didn’t know is that I was looking for a way out. I’d always been good at getting away when a dog came after me, or when I felt cornered. But here I had a square house, a rectangle of a yard, two towering people, two household dogs, and I couldn’t escape. So of course I became stressed. And I started to spin. Only the foster mom didn’t call it that. She called it “fits.”

* * * * * *

Hey, don’t forget about the special giveaway. Chances for entries are ending soon!

Three goodie stockings filled with dog treats picked out by me are waiting to go to good homes. To win just make comments between now and December 11th right on the blog to any of the posts. For every comment you make you’ll receive another chance in the drawing. I’ll keep track, and my female peep will double-check me. We’ll notify the winners and send out the gifts so they arrive before Christmas. Keep those comments coming!

* * * * * *

Want more to chew on? Click on the Category to the right called Charlie Chat. All my posts will be there starting back from #1. And they’ll be there forever, just like I hope to be in this new home forever.

And P.S. Don’t tell my female peep, but if you want a secret sneak peek at what I’ll be chewing on, check out the Charlie Here box above.

Entry filed under: Charlie Chat, Dogs.

Letting Go – Taylor’s Tips Newsletter Charlie Bear Here with “Something to Chew On” #8

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marianne  |  December 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Well, i went to Sadie and Shadow and asked them why they stayed at Barkman Farms instead of running off. Sadie found out from Harley (an Akita) that this was a grand place to live…love, warm in winter if you looked sad and lonely enough they let you in, 3000 acres to run in, with lots of bush and wildlife to keep things interested. Sadie wasn’t sold on it, but she loved Harley, though she wouldn’t let his people see her, until Harley was killed in the line of duty. Sadie felt so sorry for the sad family she decided that she’d stay and love the family. They loved her too, but she was wary of people. After a week she warmed up to her family, but she is still careful when company comes over. I’ll tell you Shadows story next time

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bjtaylorblog  |  December 11, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Marianne,
      I love Harley! So sad that you lost him, but happy Sadie found out what a GRAND time it is at Barkman Farms. Sounds like a huge place to roam. I’m jealous. But I have it good here with my new peeps. I can’tcomplain.
      Can’t wait to hear about Shadow when you want to share.
      Hugs from Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. barbjan10  |  December 11, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Hi Charlie Bear, My name is Jenny and my partner’s name is Riggs. Riggs, you know, like the big rig type semi-trailer…and he is big…he’s a Bull Mastiff and family protection trained. That makes us all feel better. Riggs came to live with us when I was a rambunctious puppy and my parents thought Riggs would help calm me down. I also had separation anxiety whenever I had to be alone. He helped me with that. My parents thought I was a Border Collie, but as I grew, they began to suspect that I was something else entirely. LOL…I guess I am!! They had a DNA test run on me, and found out that my main breed is Great Pyrenees, Standard Poodle, Pinscher, Labador and Beagle….that’s funny LOL. II’ve grown very tall and mommy says I have beautiful legs like the movie stars. Would you like to come play with us? We have a big pool in our yard and sometimes we fall in. We don’t want Riggs to fall in, cause he’s so top heavy and he just sinks. Riggs wears a doggy life jacket aroound the pool. I love swimming with all the kids and grandkids when they come around. Well, my mama said I have written more than a comment. Mama and Daddy call me comical and funny. I hope that’s meant in a nice way. I love them, Riggs and even the cat Homer very much and they love us a lot. Well, Homer is a different story, he’s caught my nose twice with his front claws. That stung. We hope Christmas is blessed with joy for you and yours. Mama has told me about baby Jesus. I love babies. If I’d have been there, I’d have cuddled with him in his manger bed. Goodnight now. I have to go help Riggs get up from the kitchen floor. He is 11 years old, ya know.

    Jenny,
    barbjan10 at tx dot rr dot com

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. bjtaylorblog  |  December 11, 2010 at 7:28 pm

      Jenny,
      You’ve got your own big rig? Awesome! Sounds like you’ve got a pretty cool home with your peeps, Homer the cat (don’t you hate when they scratch your nose?), and Riggs. I’m a mixture of all kinds of things too, so don’t worry, we’re all unique in so many ways. Like you, I would hug Baby Jesus too if I’d been there when he was born. If we were both there, we could have kept him doubly warm.
      I have a big dog, Rex, in my house and he’s 11 too. Small world Jenny!
      Have a great Christmas,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. marianne  |  December 9, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    i hope you have an uneventful (a.k.a unstressful) Christmas Charlie Bear

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. bjtaylorblog  |  December 10, 2010 at 11:01 am

      Marianne,
      I’m working on that stress-less Christmas. So far I’ve stolen a treat that my female peep put down for the big dog (she was going to throw me a little piece but I snatched his larger piece instead). I’d say the stress is all on the big dog Rex. Think he can keep up with me?
      Hugs,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. Toni Mabry  |  December 8, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I try to encourage my students to write and I told then about you, Charlie Bear and your posts.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. bjtaylorblog  |  December 8, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      Toni – you told your students about me? How cool is that! Give doggie hugs to all of them,
      Woof,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 9. Julie Garmon  |  December 8, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Charlie Bear, you are so very loved. And getting pretty famous too! It’s fun to read about you~

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. bjtaylorblog  |  December 8, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Julie,
      I don’t know about the famous part…I don’t cotton too much to change you know. Thanks for reading my posts. I love that you comment.
      Hugs from Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 11. Kimi  |  December 8, 2010 at 11:42 am

    My new CCI puppies don’t like when they are in crates by themselves either (when they first come home). It can be a scary thing, and such a big change! You are a brave pup, Charlie Bear! Love reading your posts 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. bjtaylorblog  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Kimi, change is something I don’t like. But I’m working on getting used to it. Nice to hear other dogs that you’ve trained don’t like it either. I’m not alone then. Thanks for thinking of me as brave. Hugs to your growing puppies,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply
  • 13. Sara  |  December 8, 2010 at 11:21 am

    CB, love this picture of you. You look so relaxed. Miss you stinker!

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. bjtaylorblog  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:34 pm

      Dearest Sara, I miss you too! You’d probably not recognize me…well, you would when you saw those spin cycles I still do sometimes, but most of the time I’m very calm. Quite a difference, huh? I love to lie perched on the arm of my male peep’s chair when the sun pours in through the windows during the day. Heaven.
      Hugs to you,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,111 other subscribers

Categories

Where’s B.J.?

Blog Stats

  • 46,447 hits