What She Learned from Being Suspended…

June 16, 2015 at 10:46 am 6 comments

Charlie Bear here.

Charlie Bear 1

It happened the first time to Mom Peep in middle school when she ditched class, pushed open the side door facing the street, and trotted over to a Burger King to buy herself lunch. Trouble was, it was a closed campus. You weren’t supposed to leave at all during the day.

Three day suspension. Missed classes. She brought home heavy school books and had to study all day.

school-books

What did she learn? That skipping out of school didn’t mean she could skip out of school work. A hamburger in exchange for time at home with a set of books just didn’t equal out.

She was suspended the second time ten days ago when she sent out her Taylor’s Tips Newsletter to just over 500 people. (Mom Peep says: Thank you! to all of you wonderful people who have signed up to receive the unobtrusive email once a month.)

She sent six separate emails to small groups. Then Verizon sent her an email.

Your account has been suspended for violating the policy of sending more than 500 emails in one hour.

I guess that would be like overdosing on 500 chewy rawhide bones in a day. Anyway, she could receive emails, but she couldn’t send for 24 hours. Wow. That hurt.

She called (the man commiserated but said there was nothing he could do), she sent them an email using a different account (they never responded…robots on that end she says), and she railed at the fact that her hands were tied for an entire day.

I tried to tell her you can’t overload the system. I don’t gorge myself on too much kibble at one time or I’ll upchuck (oops, sorry for that visual). And I can’t run around in a tizzy or I’ll get dizzy and my tongue will hang out.

CB in Lake Arrowhead 010

But she doesn’t listen. She’s a rebel sometimes and likes to push the edges. Like when a New York policeman told her not to walk through a barricaded street. She did it anyway to get to the parade. Geesh.

So now she knows about Verizon’s policy. Did you know about it? Oh, sure, she can look into a different way to send her newsletter. But some of those ways cost money and Mom Peep is thrifty. So she’ll toe the line and play by the rules. After all, it only takes once, right, to learn a lesson?

Share a lesson you only had to learn once!

Wiggles & Woofs,
Charlie Bear

http://www.bjtayloronline.com

Entry filed under: Charlie Chat, Dogs. Tags: , , , .

I’m back….. Become a Published Writer…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shawnelle Eliasen  |  June 18, 2015 at 6:16 am

    I wouldn’t have known either….
    Let’s see – a lesson needed only once. Well, I was in a mad rush the other day. I backed down the drive way too fast. Smacked my son’s car. Painful for both of us. But you know, I’m so thankful that it was just a car as children are often on our drive. I’m much more mindful now. Thankful for small blessings even when it means a trip to body shop.
    Love and hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 2. bjtaylorblog  |  June 18, 2015 at 6:28 pm

      Shawnelle,
      I’m so happy you weren’t hurt. A car is a car. Gets me around, and I love to stick my head out the window, but other than that, it’s just a machine, like you said. You, my dear, and your son, are much more important. Metal can get fixed.
      Woofs to you,
      Charlie Bear

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 3. lemondrop87  |  June 16, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    CB, my peeps learned her lesson today also and was suspended from writing checks; for she did not notice how she inserted the numbers on a check she was writing and put in more numbers than she had in her checking account, they went ahead and cleared it but levied a hefty fine to her account, but we all wonder where they were going to get the money to pay the check with since they had already cleared it to be paid. Any she called them and explained everything and they stopped payment on it, but would not remove the penalty without going through a bunch of others checking it out. So guess she will have to watch more closely what numbers she puts on the payment line and I just bet she does just that from now on… Take care BJ & CB and don’t get your BP(Blood Pressure) all riled up on as little a thing as sending out emails…
    Wags & Woofs!!
    Beaugie…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 4. bjtaylorblog  |  June 17, 2015 at 11:08 am

      Beaugie,
      Aren’t you glad we don’t have to worry about checking accounts, or emails? Our Mom Peeps have it rough. Just give us our kibble and toys and a soft lap to snuggle in and we’re good.
      Wiggles and Woofs,
      Charlie Bear

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 5. Julie Garmon  |  June 16, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    Ohhhh, CB. I bet your mom peep was in a tizzy! I wouldn’t have thought twice about sending out 500 emails in one day. Who knew?! One time I got put in time-out on FB. I think I’d asked too many people to be my friend in a short amount of time–and I didn’t even know I was breaking the rules, just like your mom peep. 😦 😦 😦

    I learned my lesson–in a hurry!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 6. bjtaylorblog  |  June 16, 2015 at 3:13 pm

      Ha ha, Julie. A time-out! I get those sometimes when I get put in my room ’cause I’ve been spinning and getting too riled up. But you know what? Like your FB day, it doesn’t last too long, and I sure do learn my lesson (well, for a little while anyway).
      Woofs for sharing!
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,111 other subscribers

Categories

Where’s B.J.?

Blog Stats

  • 46,442 hits