A Dog’s Purpose — Book Review/Comments

August 29, 2011 at 11:56 am 10 comments

 
Have you read this one? I absolutely loved it. I loved the dog’s voice, his easy style of relating his world, his specific detail which took me through the paper pages I held in my hands and into the depths of his dog-filled devotion and purpose.
 
W. Bruce Cameron is wonderful at crafting imagery and I marvel, long after I’ve closed the pages of the book, at the thoughts running through my own dog’s head. Did Charlie Bear have a life before this one? Is he fulfilling his purpose? Will the big dog Rex come back in the form of another dog and would I recognize him? I believe I would.
 
The praise for A Dog’s Purpose is filled with accolades like moving, inspirational, touching, exquisite, magical, mesmerizing, and enchanting. The banner on the back cover reads:
“Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog’s Purpose is not only the emotional story of a dog’s many lives, but also a dog’s-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man’s best friend.”
 
Pick this one up or download it to your Kindle or Nook. It’s a keeper.
 
A Dog’s Purpose: A Novel for Humans on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/pE09ZY
 
Entry filed under: Reviews/Comments on Books.

Above the Clouds with Charlie Bear Charlie Bear says: I’m Not Afraid of No Scale!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracy  |  August 31, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks for using the time and effort to write something so interesting.

    My site:
    Rachat de credit rachatdecredit.net

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bjtaylorblog  |  September 2, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Tracy,
      You are welcome. My pleasure. And thanks for commenting.
      B.J.

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. john fenlaw  |  August 30, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I got A Dog’s Purpose for Christmas last year. I am an avid reader, but I had my doubts about this book, because I usually read westerns and anything Larry McMurtury writes. After the first page all doubyt were gone…one of the best books I have had the pleasure to read in a long time.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. bjtaylorblog  |  August 31, 2011 at 7:07 am

      John,
      The premise intrigued me so I bought the book. Then the story captured me with its easy narrative style. Who couldn’t love this incredible dog? Or should I say dogs? A wonderful and charming tale. Glad you liked it too!
      Best,
      B.J.

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. garmonjulie  |  August 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Looks like a great book. And what a cover! What a face!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. bjtaylorblog  |  August 30, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Julie,
      It was a fantastic book. Does Brittany know about it? She’d probably love it.
      Warmly,
      B.J.

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. susanjeanricci  |  August 30, 2011 at 7:23 am

    I bought A Dog’s Purpose when it first hit B/N and I loved it. When I’m finished with my current read, I’ll probably go back and reread ADP again!

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. bjtaylorblog  |  August 30, 2011 at 11:42 am

      Susan,
      I’m with you. I might read “A Dog’s Purpose” again…it was that good!
      Thanks for commenting. And have a wonderful day.
      B.J.

      Like

      Reply
  • 9. Jean Stewart  |  August 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    ok, guess I know what’s on my Christmas list for the King family this year. Good to know, BJ. Hugs…

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. bjtaylorblog  |  August 29, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Jean,
      You’ll love giving this book as a gift. Heartwarming and captivating, the King family will love it.
      Warmly,
      B.J.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,110 other followers

Categories

Where’s B.J.?

Blog Stats

  • 44,721 hits

