Charlie Bear Here with “Something to Chew On” #14

January 25, 2011 at 12:01 pm 2 comments

My wonderful foster mom took me on walks with the two other dog dudes, Tanner and Rowdy. It was nice to be outside and I behaved pretty well. Especially when I got over anything that touched my rear end, like my leash or something. Once I relaxed and enjoyed the sniffing part, I was golden.

Foster Mom: Walking the dogs was good exercise for all of us. But I’ll never forget that one frightening morning when we returned to the house. I had unleashed all three dogs right after we entered the front door and immediately Charlie lunged at Tanner. He grabbed  Tanner in his mouth at the nape of Tanner’s neck and shook him.

I don’t know what got into me. I was like a monster. What the heck was I doing? Tanner had never done anything to hurt me. In fact, we’d often played together. My foster mom and dad were the most loving of all people and golly, they’d put up with a lot from me. Now I was attacking one of their resident dogs?

Foster Mom: Tanner was screaming. I was too, even though I know better than to escalate the situation with my own hysteria. Rowdy was barking at the other two. I got them all separated and tried to calm down. What had just happened?

All I can say in my own defense is that I was hurting and I didn’t know what to do about it. Not a behavioral hurt or psychological; this was a physical hurt, and all I could do was act out. But this was certainly not the way I wanted to behave.

Foster Mom: After a half hour of being separated, I let them come back together. Charlie Bear did it again. He lunged for Tanner and repeated the attack. I pulled them apart and separated them for the entire day. Later that evening, with my husband David home, Charlie even started after Rowdy. By now both of the other dogs were cringing when Charlie was near. David was done with him at this point.

I heard my foster mom begging David to give me more time. I really felt I’d blown it. She called that behavior trainer guy right away and he gave her more ways to manage me. I had to stay tethered to my foster mom all the time except when the other dogs weren’t around. Finally, they discovered my real problem.

* * *

P.S. LBA (Life Before Adoption) is coming to a close in just a few more posts. Stick with me, I’ll be regaling you with tales of LAA (Life After Adoption) soon. Check out the Charlie Here box above if you want a secret sneak peek at what’s coming.

And if you want to see all of my posts click on the Category to the right called Charlie Chat. They are all there starting back from #1.

Entry filed under: Charlie Chat, Dogs.

Charlie Bear Here with “Something To Chew On” #13 Getting a Dog to Take His Medicine

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Garmon  |  January 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    CB you are so honest. Such a good writer. Can’t wait to read what your real problem was….

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bjtaylorblog  |  January 25, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      Julie, it’s amazing what a terror I was back then. Even I can’t believe it. Thanks for commenting on my posts. I know my new female peep likes talking to you. And I like your picture!
      Hugs from me,
      Charlie Bear

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,110 other followers

Categories

Where’s B.J.?

Blog Stats

  • 44,915 hits

